the return

My recent history has not been so neatly chronicled as in other years (see my old blog). So here I am, once again, writing blogs to fill in the gaps of what’s going on in my life. For when you’re wondering what I’m getting up to, what I’ve been doing, my musings on the present political climate (I won’t be blogging about that, hopefully) or the best way to eat an avocado (I hopefully will be blogging about that). Check in here, I’ll (try to) keep you updated!

Since graduating from Dickinson College with a degree in Biology and Spanish, I have worked at a summer camp for kids with chronic and terminal illnesses. This was an incredible place to spend three months but, alas, not a permanent place for me.

To sum up the summer: hammocks make for better sleeping than cots, barred owls are fantastic neighbors, deer can make terrifying noises in the dark, all bugs are wonderful but mosquitoes are awful, Dr. Bronner’s is not great toothpaste, Joseph Campbell was a genius, and there’s nothing that quite compares to sitting around a campfire with close friends.

 

Much of my summer was documented on my Instagram through various photo “projects”. One such project was my #bughandseries which everyone loved because nobody hates pictures of giant insects with overenthusiastic captions like “Though this little guy looks like the devil reincarnate, they’re actually pretty chill and keep to themselves”. I’ve included some photos at the end of this post from the #BUGHANDSERIES photo series.

And now, sitting in my parents’ home in Connecticut, I await the beginning of my newest job. I’ll be working with a really awesome organization, though I’m not sure if I’m supposed to be blogging about them so I won’t include the name yet. I’ll be spending the majority of my time out side and most of my coworkers are dogs. Seems like a pretty sweet deal to me.

Check back in for more details, here are some bugs:

Leave a Reply

